Friday Rant

You know what burns my butt?
A fire about yay-high…
Okay, bad/old joke. Sorry, it won’t happen again.

Seriously, what’s been bugging me lately around my office & elsewhere are those questions – those debates in which one must choose one side or the other. Option A or Option B. No room for a gray area. All or nothing.

Can you be a Jedi & still follow the dark side of the Force, Anakin? Of course not! But it seems that most people think that the answers to these questions have to be that clear-cut or you have no true convictions. And I don’t think that’s true:

Creation v. Evolution
Conservative v. Liberal
Patriotic v. General dissatisfaction with the government & its leadership
Supporting the troops v. Opposing the war
Pro-life v. Pro-choice
The Bible as the Devine Word of God v. Just another history book written by men
Christianity v. Science
Elvis v. the Beatles

And by seeing both sides of each debate as well as believing the validity of both sides & the fact that each can & must exist in unity with the other; I am NOT riding the fence! I am not being wishy-washy! I believe very strongly in how I view each and every argument. But I don’t believe that each answer has to be absolutely exclusive.

Yes, I can believe that evolution is part of the way that God created & continues to create us & the world. Two sides of the same coin that in my mind have to coincide or they just don’t make sense. I’m not saying that you are wrong if you believe strongly one way or the other. Your opinions & convictions are totally valid, and if they’re right for your life that’s cool! But do not judge me for not agreeing. Part of being a mature, thinking adult is looking at issues from every angle & making up your own mind how to believe, not just buying what someone else has to say about it.

So, why should I have to choose between the White Album & the ’68 Comeback Special? They’re both equally awesome & the world wouldn’t be the same without either of them!

Peace…

One thought on “Friday Rant

  1. There are two kinds of people in this world: those who divide everything into two categories and those who don’t.

    I’ve been meaning to post on the nature of truth for some time and I can’t figure out how I want to word it all, but the central metaphor would be that the modern mindset sees truth as either “black and white” or “shades of gray.” The problem is that shades of gray is still black and white. The postmodern mind sees truth as multifaceted, multicolored. There is such a thing as absolute truth, but that even fits into categories of “kinds of truth;” confessional truth, allegorical or metaphorical truth, personally or universally resonant truth etc. The Resurrection is truth, but is it the same kind of truth as “diamonds are made of coal subjected to years of intense pressure and heat,” or “the sun rises in the east and sets in the west”?

Leave a Reply

