Patriotism v. Reality

Happy 4th

  • I may be one of those damned liberal democrats.
  • I may strongly oppose the war in Iraq.
  • I may think our president is a bumbling moron.
  • I may believe that the way many people wear & display stars & stripes is a form of flag desecration.
  • I may not display magnetic ribbons on my truck.
  • I may be more than happy to never hear Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless the USA” ever again.
  • I may often be embarrassed by how our country is perceived around the world.
  • I may even own books written by Al Franken.

But I never take for granted the freedoms & rights that living here grants me. Nor do I ever diminish the sacrifices that our men & women in uniform have made & are making. Even though I have my own hang-ups about it, I love this country & am damn proud to be part of it. I pray for our nation, it’s administration & our soldiers daily.

Happy Independence Day.

“You’re not to be so blind with patriotism that you can’t face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who does it or says it.”Malcolm X

Leave a Reply

