wouldn’t you like to be a pepper too?

I Love Jesus

This is an example of signs that have popped up all over my neck of the woods for the last year or so. To the best of my knowledge they are being distributed by a local “non-denominational” pole-barn church to their members or congregation, I’m guessing as some sort of witnessing tool. But honestly, what purpose do they serve? In my opinion they serve only as a blatant show of arrogance that says, “I’m part of the Jesus club – and you’re not.”

Will anyone in their right mind decide to follow Jesus because of a plastic purple sign?

How do these flimsy pieces of advertising demonstrate the love or compassion of Christ?

How does pointing out our differences promote peace or harmony?

Or is it all just another way of saying to the world at large, “Jesus may love you, but he would love you much more if you were exactly like me.”

Want to convert the unsaved? Then tell them that what they believe, the very essence of their being, is wrong & will have eternal consequences. I love you just the way you are – now change or burn. Nothing in the Bible states that being a believer should be a peeing contest, does it? Maybe it does & I just missed it. Correct me if I’m wrong. (And if you’re a Bible-thumpin’ born-again Christian, I would expect no less.)

 

  • Oh yeah, and I shouldn’t even mention the “I LOVE ELVIS” signs that I printed up in response, should I?
2 thoughts on “wouldn’t you like to be a pepper too?

  1. I agree. I get the same feeling when you see thing like the little “fish” on people’s cars. Are they really Christian or do they just like making people guess?

    I will not comment on that last sentence. We’ve been there dude.

    Have a good weekend. I started mine at 12:30.

  2. Pingback: More displays of Religious Arrogance « Ramblings from a Displaced Southern Illinoisan

Leave a Reply

