Christian?

I’ve blogged like every day this week – there must be something wrong with me. And I don’t know why I’m on a kick of writing about religion or Christianity, but I feel the need to make one simple statement;

  • I am NOT a Christian because of anything anyone has ever told me.
  • I am NOT a Christian because of anything I have ever read from any book – not even the Bible.
  • I am NOT a Christian because of any sermon I have ever heard.
  • I am NOT a Christian because of any fear of an afterlife with eternal consequences.
  • I am NOT a Christian out of any sense that being one will make my life any better or easier.
  • I am NOT a Christian because I feel like I will be rewarded for my commitment or punished for lack thereof.
  • I am NOT a Christian because I believe that it’s the only valid religion.
  • I am NOT a Christian because I had such great role-models growing up.
  • I am NOT a Christian because of some traumatic event brought on by my bad, destructive choices as a youth or because I had such a terrible childhood.

I am a Christian only because what God has done for me. I have felt His presence – seen His hand at work in my life & in the lives of the people I love. So much so that I want to be His vessel – a conduit of His love, so to speak.

Sometimes I hate Christians; what they do, what they say, how they represent the rest of us. And a lot of the time I don’t want to be associated with them. (Come to think of it, Jesus had some issues with that too.) But it doesn’t squash my own relationship with Him. Mostly it challenges me to be a different kind of Christian – one that can represent it in a different way. I often fail. But I always come back to what I know to be true in my heart. God is Good. That’s enough for me.

Okay – that was neither one statement nor all that simple. Oh well.

4 thoughts on “Christian?

  1. Pingback: My brother’s thoughts « A Man Called Preach

  2. I know my friend that we have disagreed on this subject many times before. Probably because of my pigheadness, but I agree completly with you.

    At lease you haven’t let someone run you our your beliefs because they have said one thing and done something completly different.

    One person told me they stopped going to church because they were tired of the hypocites that went there.

    My response? You probably could geuss. “So you let these people take you down with them?”

    I got a blank look. “I never thought of it like that!”

    Sounded to me they were “looking for a way out” by blaming the people around them. I was told by a person once, “I just don’t believe any more.” Much more respect for a person that is that honest with me.

    Probably why I respect you so much.

  3. Thanks Chris – I always respect your opinion on these subjects – you & I have had some interesting conversations about these things over the years. You’re a good friend.

    My usual initial response to the argument about too many hypocrites in church… is that they’re right – and that’s where we belong.

  4. re: Sometimes I hate Christians; what they do, what they say, how they represent the rest of us.

    That statement caught me, and I might suggest going to the ODMafia, a satire site regarding Online Discernment Ministries that don’t necessarily represent the best side of the faith, the ones that irk us, try our patience etc. It provides a laugh at ourselves!

Leave a Reply

