Giving it a Shot

Well, the week-from-hell is a distant memory! Don’t get me wrong – the loose threads that were left dangling Friday are still here one short weekend later, compounded by the fact that the best friend I had in the office was “let go” late Friday afternoon for still unknown reasons. I was so stressed that I physically hurt all over. I’ll be honest, I was very near Peter’s realization in the movie Office Space;

“I uh, I don’t like my job, and, uh, I don’t think I’m gonna go anymore.”
“You’re just not gonna go?”
“Yeah.”
“Won’t you get fired?”
“I don’t know, but I really don’t like it, and, uh, I’m not gonna go.”
“So you’re gonna quit?”
“Nuh-uh. Not really. Uh… I’m just gonna stop going.”

But I didn’t. I took the weekend to decompress & I’ve made up my mind that this week is going to be better! Even if it doesn’t go very smoothly, I am going to handle it better. Getting all stressed-out is physically, mentally & emotionally draining & serves no real purpose anyway. There is power in positive thinking, right? We’re going to give it a shot!


 

Also, there was one moment injected right in the middle of last week that I’m still kind of reeling over. I received an email from my pastor telling me that I had been nominated to be our church’s Lay Leader. Talk about unexpected! I’ve tried to do a little research & asked opinions from a few other people, without much luck. I think however that this could be some of that divine timing. I accepted Sunday morning without really even knowing a lot of the details. I’m already a Lay Speaker & the Lay Delegate to the Annual Conference… might as well accept this new role with a grateful heart & a profound desire to serve God’s calling in a new way. Who knows, maybe it could help me get through the minor spiritual funk I’ve been in for a while. We’ll give that a shot too.

Leave a Reply

