An Unfortunate Predicament

 

My Grandmother recently moved into an assisted living facility (or “the home” as my mother calls it). So my family is in the process of cleaning out her house to get it ready to sell. As a result of doing it now, Grandma is able to try and make sure people get things that they want or that she wants them to have. (Grandma & Grandpa amassed quite a collection of antique dishes, several German beer steins & other rare pieces.) As with many situations like this, bickering & pettiness is getting in the way of realizing the gravity & profound sadness of the circumstances. I hate it & I will admit that I haven’t stepped foot in the house since it started. If she wants me to have something I will graciously accept it, but I refuse to fight for anything. Even though she’s still alive I feel like I’m grieving over the way things used to be. It just all seems ridiculous to me to fight over a person’s possessions when she’s still alive & living less than 7 miles down the road; possessions that it took a lifetime for her & Pop to collect. To be honest, I would gladly give everything back in exchange for having my Grandparents back in the house, three doors down from my own, so that I could help them change their light bulbs, have a cup of coffee & get a hug whenever I wanted. That’s worth far more to me than any amount of stuff.

SS DishesAnyway, this is one of the sets that she wanted me to have. (Click thumbnail for a larger view & look closely.) For whatever reason there wasn’t too much flack over it. I guess no one else wanted them or didn’t realize their historical significance. Either that or Mom just didn’t tell me about it. Regardless, they are now in my house.

I appreciate them & I really like them. It’s just a shame that I don’t feel comfortable displaying them for fear of offending someone. Even though, contrary to what you might think, these aren’t even German! They actually predate WWII before the symbol was associated with Hitler or the SS. At the time these were made the swastika was a good luck design used by the American Indians. The McCoy Pottery Company discontinued the design before the Nazis adopted it as their insignia in the 1930’s. But you know how sensitive some people can be, and how conclusions can so easily be jumped to.

 

Leave a Reply

