Friday 5 – City Music

This week’s Friday Five is songs with city names in the title. For this one though, I took it a step further & tried to name ones that the cities meant something to me personally;

St. Louis Blues – Bessie Smith, One of my favorite cities – home of my favorite baseball team & some of the best Italian restaurants outside of Italy.

Sauget Wind – Uncle Tupelo, Had to include this one since I lived for a few years in Uncle Tupelo’s hometown (Belleville, IL) which was right around the corner from Sauget; home of the “Sauget Ballet,” a street full of dirty little strip clubs across the river from St. Louis.

Memphis in the Meantime – John Hiatt, another favorite city of ours because of the music, the barbeque & minor league baseball! (And this song in particular mentions one of our favorite BBQ joints, the Rendezvous!)

Bowling Green – Neko Case, sorry the link is just to a sample of the song. My lovely daughter lived very near to Bowling Green last Summer, so this one is for her. Plus I love the song & Neko is great!

San Antonio Girl – Lyle Lovett, one of the places we are considering vacationing to soon! Sorry for the poor video quality – it was the best I could find.

Bonus;
I included this one as a bonus since I have no ties to Baltimore Maryland, but I love the song. It’s Bobby Bare’s Streets of Baltimore as performed by one of my favorites, Ryan Adams…

5 thoughts on “Friday 5 – City Music

  1. You know, I’ve never been able to get into Wilco that much… and I’ve tried. But yeah UT and Son Volt are a couple of my all time favorite bands.

  2. The definitve version of Streets of Baltimore was done by Gram Parsons. Actually, any song sung by Gram Parsons is the definitive version…

Leave a Reply

