Mid-Week Rambling, aka “ADD Wednesday”

This will probably be my only post this week, not because I’m unmotivated or melancholy, but because I’m trying to squeeze a week’s worth of work into about two and a half days. I had a doctor appointment yesterday afternoon, and we’re leaving for Memphis in the morning. So, there just hasn’t been time. I probably don’t even have time to write this one.

 

bridge.jpg

Speaking of the place Elvis called home, our discussion a few weeks ago regarding a Friday Five of “City Songs” prompted me to compile a large playlist of songs with the word “Memphis” in the title. I will be burning it as a CD today with which to drive the wife nuts during the 4 hour road trip tomorrow! I love it! She probably won’t. Thanks for everybody’s unintentional help!

Also while in the home of the blues and birthplace of rock & roll, we will be visiting Devan, for whom I have requested prayer lately. He is still at St. Jude’s. The last we heard, the chemo treatments were working for the Leukemia, but were wreaking havoc with his immune system, which in turn allowed him to contract pneumonia. He was in the ICU the last time we spoke to his mother. I will know more after our visit. If I have a chance, I will post a short update from the hotel room this weekend.

4 thoughts on “Mid-Week Rambling, aka “ADD Wednesday”

  1. That’s How I Got to Memphis – Kelly Willis
    I’ve Been to Memphis – Lyle Lovett
    Big Train (From Memphis) – John Fogerty
    Wrong Side of Memphis – Trisha Yearwood
    Steve Earle, Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark – Baby Took a Limo to Memphis
    King Curtis – Memphis Soul Stew
    Pixies – Letter to Memphis

    And if you don’t download Lonnie Mack’s great instrumental version of Chuck Berry’s Memphis, I will disown you as a brother.

  2. Have a great trip to my state. If you get the chance while you’re in Memphis, eat at The Bar-B-Q Shop on Union Avenue. Best ‘cue in Memphis.

  3. Art – The BBQ Shop is already high on our list. We try to hit at least 2 joints we haven’t tried before on each trip. Sometimes you strike gold (BBQ Shop, Central BBQ) other times you leave disappointed (Pig on Beale, the Commissary in Germantown). But even the worst joints in Memphis have better BBQ than the best joints around here, in our opinion anyway. I want to go back to the BBQ Shop sometime though early enough to get a plate of their rib tips – I have heard they are phenomenal, but they run out fast!

Leave a Reply

