Friday Five – TV Theme Songs

CSI has The Who, but other than that,as Art said, television theme songs these days are pretty lame. Let’s take a look back this week at some of the best… and worst (but memorable) theme songs from days gone by. I fought the urge to include Friends because I would’ve only added it for the Jennifer Aniston hotness factor – but I divulge too much about myself.

Welcome Back Kotter – One of my favorites – a smooth 70’s groove written by former Lovin’ Spoonful frontman John Sebastian.

Miami Vice – Jan Hammer, (that’s pronounced “Yawn” not Jan for you kids out there!) This one belongs in that “worst, but memorable” category, introducing the world to crappy electronica!

Greatest American Hero – “Believe it or Not”, sung by Joey Scarbury and written by Stephen Geyer and Mike Post. “Believe it or Not” debuted in Billboard’s Top 40 on June 13, 1981, eventually peaking at #2 during the weeks of August 15 and August 22, and spending a total of 18 weeks in the Top 40. And occasionally, I still spontaneously break out into the chorus.

Bosom Buddies – Billy Joel’s “My Life”, I’ve never been a huge Billy Joel fan, but I watched the series religiously & as a result ended up loving the song.

Malcolm in the Middle – TMBG’s “Boss of Me”, Ah yes – the list wouldn’t be complete without some TMBG!

BONUS: Quite possibly the absolute worst cover of a good song in television history!

3 thoughts on “Friday Five – TV Theme Songs

  1. Good list… but you had to remind me of that Life Goes on Show (and the horrible version of Ob La Di) didn’t you. I could have lived the remainder of my life and never thought of either again ;)

  2. Baby, if you’ve ever wondered,
    Wondered whatever became of me,
    I’m living on the air in Cincinnati,
    Cincinnati, WKRP.

    Got kind of tired packing and unpacking,
    Town to town and up and down the dial
    Maybe you and me were never meant to be,
    But baby think of me once in awhile.

    I’m at WKRP in Cincinnati..

Leave a Reply

