Monday Miscellany

Cashing In

It cracks me up sometimes to what extremes people will go to make a buck on pretty much anything – even Pope Visit 2008!

The Unasked Question

The people on pharmaceutical commercials just keep telling consumers to ask their doctors a very important question. A question that I’m pretty sure nobody has ever asked a doctor… ever. But I could be wrong.

“Before taking (unnamed product), ask your doctor if you’re healthy enough for sexual activity.”

Keep On Shakin’

According to the U.S. Geological Survey website, as of right now we have experienced 22 aftershocks since Friday’s earthquake. Most of which were too small to notice this far away. It’s just an amazing phenomenon that has our region captivated – and Californians laughing hysterically at us.

Shake & Bake

When the 4.0 gave us a shake in the wee hours this morning, I said, “You think maybe we should get in a doorway or something.” To which my wife responded, “I think you’re a little late.” Oh well. Better late than never, right?

Car Shopping

We spent Saturday, as we have spent several days over the last month or so, shopping around for a new car. Both of our vehicles are paid off and the SUV is just starting to wear out. I drive my truck more often, around 60 miles a day, it’s also a year older, but for whatever reason, it’s holding up much better than the buggy (that’s how we refer to it). So we’ve been shopping. And I hate car shopping. Or more specifically, I hate car salesmen.

It’s a little harder this time because, for the first time, we don’t really know what we want. Always before we’ve had a clear idea of the exact vehicle we were after. This time has been mostly shopping around, giving everyone an equal chance to earn our business. It has been a learning experience. But now I want very much for it to be over & done with. I’m just ready to sign something & drive something home. The wife is much more patient with that kind of stuff than me, so I’m more than happy to let her do most of the talking. In fact, I noticed Saturday that every time a salesperson asks a question, I just turn my head & look at her with this goofy, “what should I say” look on my face. A look that, I’m sure she would agree, she has seen hundreds of thousands of times in our ten years together.

3 thoughts on “Monday Miscellany

  1. It’s not one of our local commercials – it just made me laugh out loud. I originally had an old Nash Rambler commercial, which was removed as soon as I posted it… oh well.

Leave a Reply

