Annual Conference 2008

Bishop Christopher looks to her right - excitement ensues

One of the more lively discussions from the floor of Annual Conference concerned the assignment of mandatory email addresses for all clergy. (A pretty good indicator of just how exciting this year’s sessions were.) Being an IT guy myself, I was interested in most of this discussion, especially when the conversation turned toward the subjects of spam & virus protection – two very time-consuming processes for all Systems Administrators. I was getting into it when the question was raised that our Conference office only has a one-man IT staff, and with these added responsibilities, what were we going to do if something went wrong when he was on vacation? Before an answer could be given however, my cell phone rang. It was a call from my office – where I am a one-man IT staff. Immediately my brain said, “I think I know the answer to that question!”

3 thoughts on “Annual Conference 2008

  1. If it was offered I might consider it (if the office was closer), but that’s not what I was trying to say. I just meant that I understand exactly what it’s like to be the one & only. I wish I could’ve heard what the conference’s guy had to say about it, but as I said, I had to take the call about my own system at that exact same time unfortunately. I just thought it was ironic how precise the timing was.

Leave a Reply

