Monday Miscellany – Tuesday Edition

Today certainly seems like Monday to me. I had to take yesterday off in order to complete the kitchen shopping trip. It seems really wrong to burn one of your vacation days to do something as joyless as shopping. I am sure some people would disagree, but to me it was definitely NOT a vacation! But, as painful as it was, it is finally done! The shopping portion anyway – not the remodel! No, the construction trudges forward this week. I would say we have probably surpassed the half-way point though. So things are looking up!

Getting Carded

I bought some baseball cards over the weekend and had to take a moment to reminisce. I actually pulled a Scott Rolen autograph from a pack. It’s a nice card and a good looking auto. But obviously it made me remember a time before he was traded away to the Blue Jays this off-season. Rolen was my daughter’s favorite player during his tenure in St. Louis, and was profoundly heartbroken when he was traded.

Don’t you just love how it’s a Blue Jays card but he’s wearing a Cardinals uniform? I hate it when they do that!

Isaac Hayes 1942-2008

From shining shoes on Beale Street to making music as a studio musician at the tiny upstart recording label called STAX Records with the likes of Otis Redding, Carla Thomas, Same & Dave. The world lost a phenomenal musician, great songwriter, and all-around extraordinary human being on Sunday, August 10.

Rest in peace Isaac – You will be missed!

Exposing the Pop Secret

I received an email this morning containing a video, I’m sure you’ve seen it by now, of a group of friends popping popcorn kernels with ringing cell phones. Guess what? It’s fake! Now quit forwarding me crap! You’re eating up my bandwidth!

One thought on “Monday Miscellany – Tuesday Edition

Leave a Reply

