My Non-Existent List

The co-author of the book “100 Things to do Before You Die,” Dave Freeman, died on August 17 at the ripe old age of 47. Is that ironic? Maybe. I just hope he accomplished a lot of what was on his list in the time that he had, or at least went out knowing that he was working on it one item at a time. It did make me think a little about a list of my own though. I don’t have one. Never really thought about it & never saw “The Bucket List” or had any desire to.

If I were to ever make a list, here are a few of the items that would be near the top (in no particular order):

  1. Travel. I know that’s kind of a broad topic, but it would encompass my desires to experience Hawaii, eat my way through all twenty regions of Italy, visit and watch games in all 30 Major League baseball stadiums across North America , and tour New England’s country Inns in the Autumn.
  2. Volunteer. I want to grow old enough to retire. Not so that I can quit working, but so that I can then devote my time and resources volunteering for some charitable organization or something equally important that I feel passionate about.
  3. Move. If I ever left this area or had the means to buy a second home, I would like to have a house in the historic district of Savannah Georgia. It is probably my favorite geographical area that I have ever visited.
  4. Write. I would like to write a publishable book. It’s honestly one of the reasons I started blogging; to see if I had the chops and the drive to seriously write something worthwhile. The jury is still out on that one.
  5. Family. I would like to live long enough to watch my daughter grow into the fine woman I know she will be. I would like to see her start her own family – and I’d like to be a part of it. And I want to spend as much time as humanly possible with my wonderful wife. Sometimes she’s the only thing that keeps me going day after day.

Okay, so there’s nothing earth-shattering in there. That’s fine by me. I’m not a very complicated guy to be honest.

So, what would make your list?

2 thoughts on “My Non-Existent List

Leave a Reply

