Friday Five – Hey Hey We’re the Monkeys

It’s a jungle out there! What with the Cubs, who are arguably the best team in the league this year, on the verge of surpassing 100 years without a championship. The economy… well, you know. The much anticipated but underwhelming vice-presidential debates last night. The release of Beverly Hills Chihuahua… the list just goes on & on.

I guess it’s a good time to “Monkey Around” with Friday Five.

I'm too sexy for this list

And since Art took a good portion of the list I already had going, (Peter Gabriel, Beastie Boys, Counting Crows & Foo Fighters) I had to dig pretty deep, even into my wife’s iPod this week and beyond!

Monkey Talk – Little Stevie Wonder

Code Monkey – Jonathan Coulton

Monkey Business – Skid Row

Monkey Gone to Heaven – The Pixies

Monkey – George Michael

And as an added bonus, one that’s not on either of our iPods but was just too funny not to include, here’s a Reggae song that became a ska standard (imagine that):

2 thoughts on “Friday Five – Hey Hey We’re the Monkeys

  1. Good list. And you posted a song I’ve never heard before! Wow.

    I started to go a different direction and post five songs, each about a different primate (based on World Cafe’s Wednesday show), but I couldn’t find videos of all the songs…

    And, snap, I just thought of an OBVIOUS monkey song that I missed somehow.

    Anyway, have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

