Friday Five – Here Kitty Kitty Kitty

Usually on Friday, I try to follow Art’s lead and build on his Five. But Art went a little “Crazy” today, and I had something else in mind.

This weekend is my small home town‘s annual autumn celebration. Most small-town fairs’ names make sense or at least have an associated story that is easily discernable. My town’s on the other hand, is called “Catskin Days“. This much I know, “Catskin” is an old nickname for Carrier Mills. But what I don’t know is WHY!?!?

Most people I have asked have no answer at all, except my Dad, who has an answer for everything. And even if he has to make it up on the spot, he can deliver it in such a confident way as to be totally believable. He told me that back in the old days, an old trader in town was caught slipping cat pelts in with whatever other pelts he was trading at the time. Which gave the town an obvious reputation. “Don’t go to Carrier Mills or you’ll end up with Cat Skins.”

That may or may not be true. But the whole premise and mystery surrounding the name is fascinating to me. If anyone else has any theories, feel free to share them. I would be interested to hear whatever anyone can come up with.

In the meantime, here are some songs about “Cats”:

Honky Cat – Elton John

An Cat Dubh – U2 (Irish for “the Black Cat”)

Stray Cat Strut – Stray Cats

Cats in the Cradle – Harry Chapin

Puss in Boots – Adam Ant

BONUS: (A little something for Lindsey…)

One thought on “Friday Five – Here Kitty Kitty Kitty

Leave a Reply

