Monday Miscellany

MVP – MVP – MVP

St. Louis Cardinals first-baseman Albert Pujols was just named the 2008 National League MVP. He is only the 11th player to ever be given that honor twice. He has finished in the top 10 in voting each of his 8 years in the majors and 7 of those in the top 4. He is a fantastically talented, consistent & classy player that any team would be proud to have on their team.

This award, along with several others this post-season almost makes up for the stink-fest of a season it was.

(¯”•.¸(¯”•.¸ MM ¸.•’´¯)¸.•’´¯)

I Like Pie

(¯”•.¸(¯”•.¸ MM ¸.•’´¯)¸.•’´¯)

They Grow Up So Fast

I have a great kid, I really do. When I visit Jason’s Chicago Dads blog and read about his struggles & joys with his baby girl, it almost makes me miss those days. But now that my little girl is not a teenager anymore I am experiencing heartbreak over things that I didn’t expect. Like seeing her make life-decisions on her own, having to take her off of my health insurance becasue her job has benefits, having to actually invite her over for supper and special events. It sounds crazy, but until you experience it you will never know how that feels.

She posted a MySpace meme this weekend called What I’ve Come to Realize, in which she wrote, “I’ve come to realize that my dad doesn’t want to control my life, but for me to be happy.” She’s right. Seeing her happy makes me happy and proud and satisfied and… (sigh) Did I mention I had a great kid?

2 thoughts on “Monday Miscellany

  1. Yes, you do have a wonderful daughter, and that isn’t by accident. You and Leah have invested all that you have into parenting, and I know intimately your struggles to do the right thing by her. It’s paid off.

    Seriously kid bro, you walked this path before me so I frequently ask myself “what would Scotty do” when dealing with my own daughter – who is also great.

Leave a Reply

