Music Meme Answers

Following Art’s lead today, here are the Answers to last Monday’s Random Music Meme. Some of them may have been tricky since they were covers of classics, like Eric Clapton, Keb’ Mo’, etc.

  1. Steve McQueen Steve McQueen; when I was a little boy I wanted to grow up to be… (Steve McQueen, Drive-By Truckers)
  2. Sweeter than honey can be to your tongue tongue (She’s A Yum Yum – Charlie Rich)
  3. Up in the morning and out to school, teacher is teaching the golden rule (School Days – Chuck Berry)
  4. Long distance information give me Memphis Tennessee (Memphis – Johnny rivers)
  5. Just walking in the rain, getting soaking wet (Just Walkin’ In The Rain – Eric Clapton & The Impressions)
  6. How come I end up where I started? (15 Step – Radiohead)
  7. Grandma’s hands clapped in church on Sunday mornings (Grandma’s Hands – Keb’ Mo’)
  8. Only the lonely know the way I feel tonight (Only The Lonely – Chris Isaak)
  9. You sing a song while sitting at a red light (Red Light – Jonny Lang)
  10. A key in the door, a step on the floor, a note on the table, and a meal in the micro (Shoe Box – Barenaked Ladies)
  11. When I was a child my family would travel down to Western Kentucky where my parents were born (Paradise – John Prine)
  12. Don’t ask her how she knows, but she knows It’s gonna be great (Flyaway – Joan Osborne)
  13. Mothers hands were lined with dirt from long days in the field (Too Bad – Nickelback)
  14. Trouble going round, trouble going down (Heart Shaped World – Chris Isaak)
  15. First I rise, then I fall (Fanny [Be Tender With My Love] – The BeeGees… ah the beauty of Randomness! LOL.)
  16. Oh I’m on my way, I know I am, somewhere not so far from here (Sitting – Cat Stevens)
  17. There’s a story in our town of the prettiest girl around (Ballad Of A Teenage Queen – Johnny Cash)
  18. I see your money on the floor, I felt the pocket change (Gardening At Night – R.E.M.)
  19. You wait, wanting this world to let you in (Let Love In – GooGoo Dolls)
  20. She walked by the ocean and waited for a star to carry her away (Rosie’s Lullaby – Norah Jones)
  21. Last night I said to her I didn’t want to live inside a lie (She’ll Come Back To Me – Cake)
  22. If you want to make the weather, then you have to take the blame (I Keep Faith – Billy Bragg)
  23. Only a tramp was Lazarus sad fate, he who lay down at the rich man’s gate (A Tramp On the Street – Charlie Haden & Rachel Haden)
  24. We are the roses in the garden, beauty with thorns among our leaves (Eden – 10,000 Maniacs)
  25. Little ditty about Jack & Diane… (Jack & Diane – John Mellencamp)
One thought on “Music Meme Answers

  1. Same as you, some I should have known didn’t even register. It’s strange, looking at words on a page with no music and no point of reference makes it more difficult to recognize songs we know by heart. It goes to show that music and lyrics are deeply linked together somehow in our brains…

Leave a Reply

