Friday Five – You Too

With the upcoming release of U2’s twelfth studio album, No Line on the Horizon, next week, I thought this might be a good time to review some of my favorite songs from their career. I won’t say that these are my “Top-5 U2 songs of all time”, because that’s like picking your five favorite pearls on a string of a thousand. Some may be smoother, shinier or more symmetrical, but that doesn’t mean I like them more than the others. Plus many songs mean different things to me at different times – it all kind of depends on how I feel or how I’m doing at the time. But these five are always certainly very high on the list:

u2

  • 11 O’Clock Tick Tock (non-album single, released prior to their debut album, Boy, 1980) from the album that basically made me a life-long fan, 1983’s Under A Blood Red Sky.
  • Bad (The Unforgettable Fire, 1984) from my favorite U2 album, a song about heroin addiction – a topic that I know absolutely nothing about. But it’s still a powerful, stirring song.
  • Angel of Harlem (Rattle & Hum, 1988) an homage to Billie Holiday recorded at Sun Studios in Memphis during the filming of Rattle & Hum. This song still gives me chill-bumps when I hear it.
  • Please (Pop, 1997) an absolute gem of a song from an album that wasn’t very well received by fans or critics.
  • Love and Peace or Else (How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, 2004) in the same vein as songs like Sunday Bloody Sunday, this track is a big plea for peace in a war-torn world. For some reason I tend to gravitate towards songs like this from U2. Very powerful! Makes me want to pump my fist in the air.
2 thoughts on “Friday Five – You Too

  1. I agree with your pearl analogy. Those are all good songs but probably only Angel of Harlem would be on my list. And that’s one of the things about U2 – their catalogue is large enough and the scope of their message is so broad that they can be different things to different people. I think that’s a key to their enduring popularity.

Leave a Reply

