No Means No!

No Is Wet - Yes Is Dry

No Is Wet - Yes Is Dry

The big debate sweeping the tiny village of Carrier Mills these days is in reference to a question on the ballot in the upcoming election. That question is whether or not our small community should allow the sale of alcoholic beverages.

“Shall the sale at retail of alcoholic liquor be prohibited in the Village of Carrier Mills, Illinois?”

Many are arguing that the wording of the question is confusing. But the Mayor says that’s how the law mandates such questions be asked. Personally, I don’t think it’s confusing at all. Of course I’m not a hot-headed band-wagon-jumper who gets all up in arms over such things. Frankly, I don’t really care if it passes or not. I don’t think that selling booze will spell the end of civilization in our little town. Nor do I think that the revenue that the licenses and taxes will provide will be enough to do much of anything with.

More than likely I will continue buying a few bottles of wine and my monthly six-pack in the town where I work. (I’m a big drinker… NOT!) I’m sure it will continue to be my more convenient option.

I do however find the proponents on either side of the argument, as well as the argument itself, to be right-down hilarious!

100_3846

Here’s more!

5 thoughts on “No Means No!

  1. The county where we used to live recently had the same vote. I could hardly believe it when it stayed DRY! I thought this time it would be overturned. It doesn’t effect me one way or the other. I am a non drinker, whether the county is wet or dry.

  2. Jason: I don’t have a problem with it as long as the dealers have to pay huge fees for licenses & we can tax the crap out of it… Okay, not really, but it sounded good.

    Jen: I expect us to stay dry too – the church crowds’ voices keep getting louder. And most of the time we end up cooking with the wine we buy. And I prefer supporting local wineries anyway, which there are none of in town.

Leave a Reply

