All Thumbs

NetLingo’s acronym of the day today was “nth” which stands for “nothing”. Coincidentally, that’s exactly what I’ve had to contribute to the blogosphere lately; nothing!

Monkey_Is_Lol

Now, I’m not one to nitpick, but “nth” isn’t really an acronym at all. It’s just shorthand. It’s the language of texting, chatting, instant messaging, tweeting, sometimes even blogging. But it is quickly becoming entirely too prevalent in other forms of written communication as well.

I have worried about the consequences of the over-use of such shorthand for a while now, and much to my chagrin, it’s finally making the news. University professors in California have reported instances of the term LOL, emoticons, and even the substitution of the number 4 for the word “for” in written assignments. I don’t know about you, but I think that is unacceptable.

I don’t claim to be the best writer in the world, but if I start using text-talk on my blog, please slap me.

srsly   :-)

Leave a Reply

