The Annual Pilgrimage

The eleventh all-time most popular search term that brings people to my blog is “Memphis”. Actually, if you combine it with searches for “Memphis Tennessee” it jumps up to number seven, right after “Cassoulet Forever”.

I guess that’s not really surprising since I have written 21 different posts and one whole page with a Memphis tag.

Anyone that knows me knows that the “Home of the Blues & Birthplace of Rock & Roll” is one of my favorite destinations.

“If Music was a religion, then Memphis would be Jerusalem and Sun Studio its most holy shrine.” So once a year, my wife and I make a pilgrimage to the slow-smoked Mecca of western Tennessee to commune with the saints (Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins, etc.) and partake in the Eucharist of barbeque ribs and sweet tea.

It has become one of our personal traditions. And at long last, the time for 2010 has arrived. Only one more day of work and we will be driving south.

When we return, there will be stories to tell (there always are), pictures to develop (my wife calls me “Ansel”), diets to resume (but it’s SO worth it), and memories to hold us over until the next trip.

In the meantime, here’s another blog post tagged affectionately “Memphis”.

One thought on “The Annual Pilgrimage

  1. Memphis is a LONG way from us now. I don’t know when we’ll get to go back but I love that city!

    We are heading to New Orleans in the morning. There is a music festival going on and we are sure to hear some great music. YAY!

    Have a great trip.

Leave a Reply

