Something to Think About

My blog bud Jen, aka the Dust Bunny Hostage, posed an interesting question this morning:

“Why do you blog?”

Since my posts have been rather scarce lately, I have thought about this question quite a bit. And it has been compounded by the fact that a few of the people that inspired me to take it up have also either slowed their own blogging way down, or shut their blogs down completely.

Who has two thumbs and likes random pictures of monkeys? This guy!

One of the biggest reasons I started blogging was to give myself an excuse to write. I am not a great writer by any stretch of the imagination, but I enjoy the craft of it. And much like any talent or skill, the old saying holds true; use it or lose it. And I certainly didn’t want to lose it. Of course, now that I am back in school, and the program that I am in requires me to write a ten page research paper every five weeks, this is turning out to not be such a huge concern right now. Although it is nice to write something occasionally in which I don’t have to cite references and talk in the third-person.

To anyone who actually knows me, the whole idea of me writing essays for the world to read is counterintuitive. I am severely introverted and quiet; a typical type B personality for sure. But somehow I have expanded my own boundaries to not only blogging, but also public speaking by becoming a Local Lay Speaker in the United Methodist Church. It doesn’t make a lot of sense, but it works for me and gives me an outlet.

Since 2007 I have tried several different approaches to blogging:

  • I have attempted to be witty and snarky.
  • I have simply shared stories from my own life, regardless of how boring or mundane they might have been.
  • I have blogged about music, movies, TV, graphic novels, food, and baseball.
  • I have had slow days when I simply threw up a random iPod playlist.
  • I have participated in international photo blogging.
  • I have consciously avoided politics, but written extensively on religion – even using my blog to help me fulfill Lenten and Advent commitments to myself once or twice.
  • I have participated in a few Internet Memes, even before I knew how to pronounce it. (Just in case you still don’t, it rhymes with “team”.)
  • I have flown my Geek-Flag high and proud.

Jen suggested that some people blog for the comments. And though it did give me the warm tinglies when a few semi-famous people responded to posts about them (including Big Sandy of Big Sandy & His Fly-Rite Boys and Thom Zahler, the creator of the web comic Love & Capes) – and I did get a rush when I had a tiny brush with international blogosphere fame when I wrote a short, silly post about “Cassoulet Forever” – recognition or conversation has never really been what this blog was about. It is almost a moot point anyway since the Facebook phenomenon took off. At Facebook less thought can be put into each update sparking loads of conversation about nothing at all at the drop of a hat; usually filled with poor grammar, no punctuation, and unnecessary abbreviations.

So the question remains… why do I blog?

And I have to be honest – at this point, I don’t really know outside of the fact that I just simply enjoy it.

Is that enough reason?

2 thoughts on “Something to Think About

  1. This was so well written that surely there are some references to be cited. Oh wait, you did… you linked to me. *grins*

    I wish that I could blog purely for enjoyment. I would be a better blogger. It sort of boils down to those pesky comments. Meaning, if I don’t have time to read and comment, I feel guilty about publishing posts. I feel like it is unreasonable to think that people would read and comment (see? There’s that pesky word) on my blog if I am not taking time to read others. I guess at this point, I have allowed it to become social. And you know, it WASN’T that way in the beginning!

    Starting a blog was one of the bravest things that I’ve done. I’m not one who wants to share my thoughts and opinions with large numbers of people. I think I need to become brave again and work on blogging for all of the right reasons :)

    I thorougly enjoyed your response. You made me think!

Leave a Reply

