The Music Lover’s Conversation Starter

A coworker just walked into my cubicle with a slightly disgusted look on his face, and said that the iPod messed everything up.

He was going to ask the typical music geek question, “What’s in your CD player?” But like most people these days, there isn’t anything in my CD player. Nearly everything I listen to is loaded onto my trusty iPod. And what I am currently listening to can change on a whim multiple times daily – much more easily than switching compact disks. This is especially true when I am listening to a playlist or have it on shuffle.

You can’t just look at what I’ve recently uploaded either. I may have downloaded three new albums on Tuesday, but listen to old Ricky Nelson music the rest of the week. (Don’t judge me!)

The CD player question is much more definitive and telling. And the popularity of the iPod and other MP3 players have changed the game.

  • So what is on my playlist?
  • What is currently in high-rotation?
  • What is the current soundtrack of my life?
  • What’s on the iPod – Whoa-oh-whoa-oh-whoa-oh-oh?

(I haven’t found a good replacement question that works for me yet. Any suggestions?)

Well, in case you’re wondering – and God knows you are – here’s what’s been spinning at 4200 rpm on my 45.7 mm ATA-6 hard drive lately – at least for the last week or so according to my “Recently Played” list, interspersed with selections from Jonathan Coulton and a sudden unexplained resurgence of the A Mighty Wind soundtrack:

Ray LaMontagne: God Willin' and the Creek Don't Rise, The Like: Release Me, Justin Townes Earle: Harlem River Blues, The Black Keys: Brothers, & Weezer: Hurley

Leave a Reply

