Rrruuuuhhhh…

How would you kill a zombie?

That was one of the regular questions of the podcast/interview portion of Len Peralta’s Geek-A-Week art project, which I have mentioned on this blog before. But to my surprise, no one answered the way I would. There were plenty of shotguns & machetes, even a few generic answers like “kill the brain, kill the zombie”. But the thing is; I don’t like guns, so I would probably not be very good with one.  And I certainly don’t want to get close enough to use a machete or an axe. So I would probably be more likely to set booby traps so that I could effectively kill them from a distance. Obviously the head has to be removed, so that would have to be taken into consideration. Plus it would be nice for it to have the capacity to kill multiple zombies in a single shot, but having an engineering background; I don’t think it would be a problem.

And after years of watching roadrunner cartoons – I have lots of great trap ideas that I would hopefully not get trapped in or decapitated by myself.

The whole zombie fascination seems to be a geek-thing right now for some reason. ThinkGeek.com even has a whole section devoted to all things zombie. And I like zombies too. Though to just say that I like horror movies is a bit of an over-statement. I specifically like monster movies; zombies, werewolves, large non-descript alien creatures – all kinds of monsters.

I suppose that comes from my childhood. When you think about it, most of the movies that had the biggest impact on me featured monsters, even if they weren’t necessarily monster movies. Star Wars had some great monsters; wampas, the rancor, hutts, space slugs and the sarlacc just to name a few. Then there was Clash of the Titans; Medusa, the Kraken, giant scorpions. And don’t forget King Kong (specifically the 1976 Jessica Lange version) or Jaws.

It has even affected the way I watch movies today. I honestly get excited when I hear about upcoming made-for-SyFy monster movies like Sharktopus, or Dinocroc vs. Supergator. I really do!

Right now I am engrossed in both the Walking Dead television series and the graphic novels. And while it stays true to George Romero’s original ideas about zombies, the story is a fresh take on the genre because it is much deeper than just monster fighting. In fact, the case could be made that the title is a reference not to the zombies, but to the still-living characters just trying to postpone their inevitable deaths. It is definitely more about how the characters survive – physically, mentally, and emotionally – under unbelievable duress than it is about the zombies.

So why am I thinking and writing about zombies?

I don’t know.

I guess I just have them on the brain.

(pun intended)

3 thoughts on “Rrruuuuhhhh…

  1. I was pleased that I had watched all of the monster movies that you listed. Star Wars was my favorite but I really liked Clash of the Titans too.

    There is a show on… History Channel maybe?… that talks about Vampires. I had never heard of Elizabeth Bathory from Hungary but she was TRULY terrible. How is it that I had never heard of a woman responsible for killing 6 to 7 hundred young women??? She is thought to be an inspiration for the vampire character. I say all of that because I don’t know who inspired the zombie character or how old it is. Was there a historical weirdo obsessed with brains?

    I could Google but it is more fun to drop my questions here :)

    • It’s origins come from old African and Haitian voodoo folklore, but most of the details that we associate with the zombie legend come from Romero’s “Night of the Living Dead” (1968) which inspired a whole horror sub-culture.

  2. I’m resigned to not surviving the zombie apocalypse. I might be able to handle one or two, but they tend to come in swarms and I’m not as agile as I used to be. I think my goal in any zombie attack will be to take as many as I can with me, and then to become truly dead rather than risk infection with the walking dead virus.

Leave a Reply

