Look Who’s Talkin’

It has definitely been a busy month, and it looks like June isn’t shaping up to be much calmer.

I was out of town all last week. The company I work for sent me (and a couple hundred of the people that do my job in other business units around the world) to Phoenix Arizona for an IT Conference.

Information Technology is a bit of a thankless job. We are kind of like morticians or oncologists; the only time we are recognized is when something is wrong. When things seem to be running smoothly they ask, “what does he do anyway?” instead of, “thank you.”

And God forbid I change or upgrade anything!

It seems similar to being a goalie. The other players on the field can mess up and miss their shots through the entire game, make one single goal and they’re instantly heralded as the hero. A goalie can block everything thrown at him but let one single shot slip by and they’re labeled a failure.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my job. I enjoy what I do and will continue to learn and improve so that I can do it better and more efficiently. But would it kill you to throw a little gratitude my way occasionally? Luckily for me I work for a large decentralized conglomerate who recognizes the importance of IT, and they also know that as a result of that kind of corporate structure, the best resource any single one of us has… is each other. If I have a specific issue that I don’t know how to solve – I can turn to the “hive-mind” and chances are good that someone else has already dealt with it and can point me in the direction to solve it.

That is why tech support message boards or on-line forums are often quicker and more reliable than actually trying to contact a tech support person.

Unfortunately, it was in Phoenix. I had never been to Phoenix before. I had never been that far west. So this was my first trip to the desert – the Valley of the Sun. Everyone kept warning me that it was a “dry heat”. As it turned out though, it was at least 15 degrees cooler than average… and it rained… in the desert. Fun.

So anyway – that’s what I was doing last week.

This week I am working; but after the holiday on Monday, I will work one whole day before attending another conference in Northern Illinois as a representative of my church for the rest of the week and part of the weekend. Out of three weeks I will have worked a total of six days – and none of it because of vacation.

Eventually I will get to take some time off for a vacation that doesn’t involve being stuck in a giant windowless conference room… Eventually.

Oh yeah – and since it is Friday – let me post a Five on Friday list that I made a few weeks ago and never posted.

A few days ago the incredible Bob Dylan turned 70 years old. In honor of one of the world’s finest and most influential singer/songwriters I have assembled a playlist of five of my favorite Bob Dylan songs covered by other artists.

Nearly every singer or band in every genre of popular music has covered Dylan at one time or another; George Harrison, the White Stripes, U2, Emmylou Harris… the list is limitless. Here are some of my favorites:


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones

Have a fantastic holiday weekend, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Look Who’s Talkin’

  1. I think I actually prefer covers of Dylan tunes. I’m not a fan of his voice, but I do enjoy his poetry set to music. So hearing another artist do a cover suits me.

  2. My husband tried to do a Bob Dylan impersonation (several times) that annoyed me so badly I actually spoke up and told him so *gasp* and hurt his feelings. THAT is what I think of when someone says Bob Dylan, not his music. Now isn’t that a low down lousy shame? Anyway.

    I respect IT folks… promise.

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

