Five on Friday: Plunk your magic twanger, Froggy

One of the more bizarre twists and turns in my extremely wide-ranging musical tastes goes down the path of Bluegrass. More specifically, I tend to prefer what is commonly known as “Progressive Bluegrass” or “Newgrass” which uses elements of rock & roll, jazz, and other musical genres to create a more modern, fresh sound. I “discovered” my love for Bluegrass a few years ago as a result of my love for Gillian Welch. I was completely enamored with her first studio album Revival  which (as an information junkie) made me want to learn as much as I could about her.  That is when I found out that she and her guitarist/songwriting partner David Rawlings were working with a young “Old-Timey String Band” called Old Crow Medicine Show. I loved it so much that it instantly threw me into a spiral of banjos & mandolins.

Here are some of my favorites, plus one of my favorite Gillian songs from Revival


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones
5 thoughts on “Five on Friday: Plunk your magic twanger, Froggy

Leave a Reply

