Five on Friday: Keep Fighting that Foo

We spent last weekend in one of our favorite places, St. Louis. While we were there, we went to the St. Louis Blues training camp, watched our daughter run a 6K race at Busch Stadium for the Cardinals Care charity, and went to a concert featuring one of my wife’s favorite bands, Foo Fighters.

Personally, when the Foo Fighters first came out, I resisted them. I was mad at Dave Grohl for moving on so quickly from Nirvana following Kurt Cobain’s death. I was a huge Nirvana fan, and was sincerely heartbroken when I heard the news of his suicide. And for whatever reason, I took it out on Dave’s new band. Some of their music was catchy when I heard it on the radio or saw the videos, but I refused to give it more than a passing glance.

Turns out though, that it was my own loss.

My wife continued to follow the Foo’s throughout their career, and eventually I too found myself listening to their albums more and more. The thing is; they’re just good, unadorned, consistent, not overly produced rock and roll. And the concert just served to drive that point home. Apparently Dave’s a pretty good song writer too – though you can definitely hear a Nirvana influence especially in the early stuff.

So, I am a fan. And the show was awesome! They played for something like 2 hours and 50 minutes not including the two opening acts (who were okay at best).

Here are a few of my favorites from their catalog including one from their new album (which is totally worth picking up if you were wondering):


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones

 

3 thoughts on “Five on Friday: Keep Fighting that Foo

  1. I’m playing along a day late but hopefully I’ll be forgiven!

    The thing that I always think of with the Foo Fighters is the horrendous time that I had getting through “Learn to Fly” on Guitar Hero! Needless to say, I played it over and over and over until I finally got it right so know every word and just about every chord change!

Leave a Reply

