Serving Up a Warm Bowl of Victory

Are you ready for Super Bowl Ecks Ell Vee Eye???

Personally, growing up, I was never a big fan of soup. It seemed like such a waste of a perfectly good meal opportunity. I mean, we weren’t poor. So it wasn’t like mom had to feed the whole family on a meager handful of meat and beans, so she had to thin it down with lightly flavored water. I wanted her to pour that stuff down the drain and cook me a hotdog or some spaghetti. I was a growing boy, for goodness’ sake. Throw some meat on the grill!

But that was then.

As my tastes have matured, I have grown to really love many soups. Give me some hearty Italian Wedding Soup, a spicy Tortilla Soup, or some decadent Lobster Bisque. One of my favorites is a good homemade French Onion with croutons and melted Gruyere cheese. That’s good eating right there! Serve it in a good, crusty bread bowl and just about any soup becomes better.

Seriously though, you can keep your split pea. That stuff is disgusting. It’s like someone decided that baby food looked yummy, so they dumped several jars in a bowl and heated it up.

Wait… What?

OHHHHH! S-U-P-E-R… Not S-O-U-P!

I see my error now. So, this is some sort of sporting event, huh?

Okay.

I suppose you could still eat a bowl of soup while you are watching it though, couldn’t you?

In the words of Emily Litella, one of Gilda Radner’s recurring characters back in the glory days of SNL, “Never Mind”.

One thought on “Serving Up a Warm Bowl of Victory

  1. LMAO! I’m not a soup fan myself, although I’ll take a hearty bowl of clam chowder once in awhile.

    Now Super Bowl…that’s different! I love football and I especially love the NFL when a team I can enjoy wins the big game. I’m not a Giant’s fan, but I like Eli. I don’t like NE at all, so the result of the game was excellent for me.

Leave a Reply

