Dona Nobis Pacem

Blogging For Peace

blogblast4peace09_arachnerd

Click my peace globe to read Mimi's fantastic BlogBlast post as well as links to hundreds more from around the world

 

In a world that is ravaged by chaos, war, tragedy, conflict and hatred, it is difficult to look around and be optimistic.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, ever since I listened to a podcast episode of NPR’s RadioLab called “New Normal”. It opened with a short piece in which a reporter followed around a guy, John Horgan, through the streets of Hoboken conducting an informal, one question survey. “Will humans ever stop fighting wars?

It’s a question he has been asking people ever since the United Stated invaded Iraq in 2003.

Its one of life’s unanswerable questions. And as John explains, it’s not just a question about war. It’s a question about whether or not humans possess the ability to change who and what we are.

An overwhelming majority, 9 out of 10, answered quickly and adamantly, “NO”. Many of the explanations involved the term “Human Nature”.

Can we change?

Is peace possible?

As a Christian, I try to live my life in a way that embraces hope and love. I have to believe that peace on earth is a worthwhile and attainable goal. It is still hard to be optimistic, but I have to believe that it’s possible.

However, as a human, the best I can do is to change me.

Which is why, like Mother Theresa, I want the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi to be my prayer every day. Because it’s not about assigning blame or responsibility; it’s about taking it.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;

and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;

to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

Amen.

It’s also why I am participating in today’s BlogBlast for Peace; a day when bloggers around the world unite in a moment of solidarity, regardless of our differences, to embrace the hope of Peace on Earth.

Dona Nobis Pacem

12 thoughts on “Dona Nobis Pacem

  1. I grew up surrounded with St Francis. My mother worked for The Franciscans from my early grade school years. She was in their midst as she drew her final breaths…

    I hold those words close to my heart.

    We can bring so much light to the world… we can bring Peace.

  2. I agree with you that it has to start individually. We have to find that optimism in the face of so much fear and uncertainty. Then our positive energy can go out and impact the world well.

    Peace to you and yours.

  3. Pingback: Your Caring Angels » Blog Archive » “Dona Nobis Pacem”

  4. What a truly beautiful peace globe and post. I am honored to have you join us. Thank you so much for writing this uplifting post and inspiring so many people.

    You are #1566 in the Official Peace Globe Gallery at blogblastforpeace.com

    Peace,
    Mimi

Leave a comment